Home Trending Music Patriotic Songs That Will Give You Goosebumps

Patriotic Songs That Will Give You Goosebumps


India celebrates its 71st Independence Day on August 15, 2017. The country attained independence from the British Raj at midnight on August 15, 1947. On this day every year, Indians pay homage to great leaders and freedom fighters who fought for India’s Independence and lost their lives. All government buildings and offices are decorated with lights and people flock to have a look.

There are independence day songs, and then there are songs that give you goosebumps. Independence Day is incomplete without all-time classics independence day songs like ‘Vande Mataram’, ‘Aye Mere Watan Ke Logo’, ‘Suno Gaur Se Duniya Walo’, ‘Zindagi Maut Na Ban Jaye’ and many more. These unforgettable numbers (in no definite orders) will definitely make your day. Happy Independence Day, all!

Best Independence Day Songs of India :

1. Bharat Humko Jaan Se Pyaara hain

The music composer AR Rahman again did wonders with the song “Bharat Hum Ko Jaan Se Pyaara Hain” of the film “Roja.” It is sung by Hariharan and is a beautiful song with meaningful lyrics. The line ‘Bharat Hum Ko Jaan Se Pyaara Hain’ means we love India more than our life.


2. Vande Mataram

Vande Mataram is a pre-Independence song composed by Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay and its beauty lies in its lyrics. Vande Maataram, vande maataram, Sujalam sufalam malayaja-shitalaam, Sashya-shyaamala maataram, Vande maataram. The lyrics are so powerful that they create goosebumps. We share a version of the song by Lata Mangeshkar.

3. Maa Tujhe Salaam

This song is undoubtedly, amongst A. R. Rahman’s most powerful compositions ever. The song evokes a strong sense of pride and responsibility. The part where Rahman sings ‘Maa Tujhe Salaam’ gives you goosebumps. An outstanding composition by Rahman. The song won many awards for its gut wrenching lyrics and music.

4. Chak De India

Salim- Suleiman’s spirit reflects in the song. This ground breaking song inspires you to the core. Chak De India is an enthusiastic patriotic song that clicks instantly. Presence of Shah Rukh and his hockey team adds a sporty touch to the song. Definitely a song that should be given standing ovation.

5. Suno Gaur Se Duniya Walo (Dus)

This energetic song is sung by Udit Narayan, Mahalakshmi Iyer, Shankar Mahadevan and Dominique Cerejo for the movie Dus. It stars Salman Khan and Sanjay Dutt who made this patriotic song cool with their performance and it became an instant hit with the youngsters.


6. Rang De Basanti

This song from Rang De Basanti topped charts soon after its release. This Daler Mehndi song is full of loud beats and rhythm coupled with powerful rendition. This thumping tune connects immediately. The perfect blend of soulful lyrics and beats, leaves us pretty impressed. Definitely a song you must listen to on Independence Day.

7. Yeh Jo Desh Hai Tera

One of the most touching SRK songs ever, Yeh Jo Desh Hai makes a place in your heart. This soulful song coupled with shehnai makes you want to do something for the country. It gives you a sense of pride and love for your country. The music of this song has a very Indian touch. Truly a masterpiece.

8. Kandho Se Milte Hain Kandhe

Shankar, Ehsaan and Loy’s music has always been very soulful and in this song too they nailed it. This sentimental yet powerful song gives a feeling of power and a will to do something for the country. Lyrics are totally captivating and leave you humming the tune. The number hold its own pace and is quite soulful.

9. Satyamev Jayate

The most anticipated theme song of Aamir Khan’s tv show “Satyamev Jayate”. Aamir has travelled extensively over several weeks to various places in Rajasthan, Kashmir, Kerala, Delhi, Punjab and several North-Eastern states to portray the basic essence of the show. This music video is directed by ‘Ram Madhvani. The song is composed by Ram Sampath while lyrics are penned down by prolific writer Prasoon Joshi.

10. Aye Mere Watan Ke Logo

One of my favorite Independence Day Songs of all time.

Aye Mere Watan Ke Logo” “O! the people of my country!”) is a Hindi patriotic song written by Kavi Pradeep,composed by C. Ramchandra and sung by Lata Mangeshkar commemorating Indian soldiers who died during the Sino-Indian War. Kavi Pradeep was reportedly moved to compose the song by accounts of casualties of the war.



If you liked our compilation of Independence Day Songs, please leave your comments. Or you may try “Unknown facts about Independence day of India“.

Happy Independence Day!!!